Yvonne von Hartel AM appointed to Business Council of Australia’s BizRebuild advisory committee.

The BizRebuild Initiative, developed through the Business Council of Australia, is a five year recovery and rebuilding fund specifically initiated to focus on rebuilding bushfire affected communities.  The Business Council of Australia represents the chief executives of Australia’s largest employers, advocating for good policy on behalf of the business community and the 11 million Australians they employ.  peckvonhartel look forward to supporting this initiative through Yvonne von Hartel AM, who has been appointed to the BizRebuild advisory committee.

Their initiative to support communities affected by the bushfire crisis is twofold, supporting to rebuild at the local community and industry level. Their efforts include; 

Rebuilding Communities
• repairing and rebuilding community facilities, such as community halls, and sporting facilities, such as sporting grounds and clubhouses, and
• constructing multi-purpose world-class community and sporting facilities that are better than before to give communities thriving hubs of social and economic activity where they can come together, attract sporting, social and tourism events, and keep locals in town.

Rebuilding Industry
• coordinating research and long-term places to re-establish industries such as tourism, agriculture, aquaculture, forestry and viticulture,
• collaborating with industry groups to work on branding, marketing and campaigns, and
• encouraging larger businesses to enter procurement deals to purchase fresh produce, goods and services from fire affected regions such as trout from Tumut and rock lobsters from Kangaroo Island.

Who is running the initiative?
General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove (Retd) who has firsthand experience in recovery efforts in Australia and overseas is the chair of the initiative. Lisa Paul AO PSM, who coordinated the federal government’s domestic response to the Bali bombings, is coordinating the committee’s work.

The advisory committee includes John Anderson AO, Rebecca Frizelle, Danny Gilbert AM, Richard Goyder AO, Katie Page, Tim Reed, Tony Shepherd AO, Yvonne von Hartel AM, and Jennifer Westacott AO. The initiative will be the first point of contact for companies to coordinate during this crisis and will work as an interface with federal and state authorities.

Read the full Media release from the Business Council of Australia click here